The competition for attention has never been so intense. For journalism to survive and flourish, we must be willing to reimagine everything. Design is our natural ally and a crucial part of the solution.
Journalism Design is an interdisciplinary program at The New School in New York City, merging design thinking with time-tested journalistic principles and practice.


Thursday | July 7, 2016

Confessions of a former content farmer

Last August, as a staff writer for a well-known online news outlet, I committed the following act of journalism: I took an animation that had been produced by someone else, added some snarky commentary to it, and posted it online under the headline, “This video demonstrates how rats can swim up your toilet bowl and will turn you ++++++++>



Core Faculty

  • Heather Chaplin
  • Irwin Chen
  • Andrew Meier

Guest Faculty

  • Scott Klein, ProPublica
  • Kia Gregory, formerly The New York Times
  • Sarah Kramer, Time
  • Sarah Ryley, New York Daily News
  • Gisele Regatao, formerly WNYC
  • Carmel Lobello, The Wall Street Journal
  • Larry Buchanan, The New York Times
  • Alexandra Ackerman, Contently
  • Joanna Kao, Al Jazeera America
  • Tyler Kelley, Parsons School of Design
  • John Keefe, WNYC
  • Allison Lichter, The Wall Street Journal
  • Andrew Losowsky, Coral Project, New York Times
  • Francis Tseng, Coral Project, New York Times
  • Sisi Wei, ProPublica
  • Lena Groeger, ProPublica
  • Noah Veltman, WNYC
  • Benjamen Walker, “Theory of Everything”
  • Aurelia Moser, CartoDB
  • Emily Goligoski, New York Times
  • Matthew Diaz, formerly New York Times
  • Blake Eskin, 29th Street Publishing
  • Dylan Greif, Atavist
  • Katy Newton, formerly LA Times, IDEO
  • Jake Price, BBC In Pictures
  • Aidan Gardiner, DNAinfo
  • Peter Stevenson, formerly New York Observer
  • Sarah Montague, WNYC

Guest Designer

  • Louise Ma, formerly WNYC

Guest Editors, Social and Data

  • Anjali Mullany, Fast Company
  • Daniel Victor, The New York Times
  • Amanda Zamora, ProPublica
  • Kayla Epstein, The Guardian
  • Ryann Grochowski Jones, ProPublica
  • Coulter Jones, The Wall Street Journal
  • Shane Shifflett, Huffington Post
  • Lainna Fader, New York Magazine
  • Annemarie Dooling, Vocativ

Workshop Leaders

  • Juliette Melton, The New York Times
  • Rachel Derkits-Gelman, The New York Times
  • Drake Baer, Tech Insider
  • Thomas Rheil, Atavist
  • Laura Cochran, Condé Nast
  • Andrew Donohue, The Center for Investigative Reporting
  • Jeff O’Connell, First Look Media
  • Kevin Dugan, The New York Post
  • Alexis Lloyd, The New York Times
  • Hong Qu, Fusion
  • Adam Sternbergh, New York Magazine


  • Aron Pilhofer, The Guardian
  • John Seely Brown, Visiting Scholar, USC
  • Joaquin Alvarado, The Center for Investigative Reporting
  • John Keefe, WNYC
  • Shazna Nessa, Knight Foundation